Free Shipping On Orders Over $88

Georgia Emergency Vehicle Light State Statutes

georgia Like all other states in the US, Georgia has emergency vehicle light state statutes that governs who can and what color emergency lights may be used in different industries. Below, we will go over the Georgia’s state standards.

Georgia Emergency Vehicles Defined

Georgia State Statute 40-1-1 allows some privately and publicly owned vehicles to use emergency or warning light. Under this statute, public utility corporation vehicles, Department of Transportation vehicles, police department vehicles, fire department vehicles, including volunteer firefighter POVs, can use emergency lighting if deemed appropriate by local, state, or federal agencies.

Ambulances, Police Vehicles, and Fire Trucks May Use White, Red, Blue, or Yellow-Amber Warning Lights in Georgia

georgia-state-flagUnder Georgia state statute 40-6-16 permits ambulances, police vehicles, and fire trucks to use white, red, blue, or yellow/amber warning lights. This same statute also permits tow truck and wrecker vehicles to use yellow/amber, white, red, or blue lights on their vehicles. However, while colored warning lights allows first responders certain rights, the use of warning lights does not allow tow truck or wrecker drivers any certain privileges. In fact, tow truck and wrecker drivers are required to obey all traffic laws at all times – regardless of whether they are using warning lights or not.

Failure to Obey Georgia Emergency Light State Statutes

Georgia has strict rules about who can and can’t use emergency or warning lights in the state’s boundaries. According to their statute, failure to adhere to emergency light state statutes can result in a fine that cannot exceed $500.

Georgia Pilot Vehicle Requirements

The Georgia Department of Transportation states an escort vehicle must be a pickup truck or passenger automobile. The vehicle must be fitted with a revolving amber strobe light at least eight inches in diameter. The warning light must be mounted on the the top of the vehicle and have a minimum candlepower of 35,000 and create 80 revolutions per minute. An escort vehicle driver must obtain a permit to use an amber light from the Department of Public Safety.

For more information about what lights may be available to you, we suggest calling your State Highway Patrol office at: 404-699-4368

*Please note that these numbers are what we are currently able to find and the numbers may have changed since this listing.


Disclaimer: The emergency vehicle light state statute guide was created by Extreme Tactical Dynamics as a guide and reference. We make no claim to the accuracy or validity of this guide. This guide was written to the best of our knowledge and has been provided to our customers as a courtesy ONLY! The information in this guide is our interpretation of the law as we have read it. We cannot be held responsible for any errors as this is only our interpretation of the law and the laws are constantly changing. We cannot be held liable or responsible for any errors and recommend that our customers refer to their local authorities to confirm the particular statue that governs their use of emergency vehicle lights.

Chamber of Commerce Verified Member
Business Consumer Alliance Member
GoDaddy SSL Secure Site
mcAfee Secure Shopping
TrustGuard Business Verified
TrustGuard Certified
TrustGuard Privacy Verified
TrustGuard Secure Site Verified