In New Mexico, certain vehicles are deemed emergency vehicles and allowed to use lights and sirens. It’s important for anyone that uses warning lights in New Mexico to understand and obey New Mexico emergency vehicle light state statutes. To make accessing this information easy, we have gathered the state’s statutes about emergency lighting and links to formal sources here.
New Mexico Emergency Vehicle Defined
New Mexico state statute 66.1-4.1(F) defines an emergency vehicle as those belonging to fire, police, and municipal departments. Ambulances and public utility companies are also permitted to use warning lights if designated by certain state departments.
New Mexico Police Use Red Warning Lights
New Mexico state statute 66-7-6(C) allows police vehicles in the state to use a red light. The red lighting must be visible for at least 500 feet to the front of the vehicle. The statute clearly states that law enforcement in New Mexico does not have to use red warning lights.
New Mexico Ambulances Must Use at Least One Red Light
In New Mexico, ambulances must use at least one red lighted lamp under state statute 66-3-835(E). This state statute requires that the red light must be visible for at least 500 feet.
The New Mexico state statute mentioned above also allows fire trucks to use front flashing red lighting.
Tow Trucks, Wreckers, and Utility Trucks May be Allowed to Use Warning Lights in New Mexico
New Mexico state statute 66-3-835(D) some tow trucks, wreckers, and utility trucks may be allowed to use warning lights. This statute states that these types of vehicles may only activate lights in the process of retrieving a vehicle or other task. Once the task has been completed, the lights must be turned off. The statute does not designate a certain color for tow trucks, wreckers, and utility trucks in New Mexico, but does state that these types of vehicles may not use flashing red lights.
New Mexico Pilot Vehicles Use Amber Lighting
All pilot, flag, or escort vehicles in New Mexico are required to use amber lights. Regulations state these vehicles must use at least 2 rotating, strobe, or flashing amber lights. The lights must be mounted on the top of the vehicle and cannot be more than 8' apart. Furthermore, the amber lighting must be visible at a distance of 1000' feet in daytime, sunny hours.
For more information about what lights may be available to you, we suggest calling your State Highway Patrol office at: 505-827-9300
*Please note that these numbers are what we are currently able to find and the numbers may have changed since this listing.
Disclaimer: The emergency vehicle light state statute guide was created by Extreme Tactical Dynamics as a guide and reference. We make no claim to the accuracy or validity of this guide. This guide was written to the best of our knowledge and has been provided to our customers as a courtesy ONLY! The information in this guide is our interpretation of the law as we have read it. We cannot be held responsible for any errors as this is only our interpretation of the law and the laws are constantly changing. We cannot be held liable or responsible for any errors and recommend that our customers refer to their local authorities to confirm the particular statue that governs their use of emergency vehicle lights.