Free Shipping On Orders Over $88

Minnesota Emergency Vehicle Light State Statutes

minnesota First responders and utility truck drivers in Minnesota may be able to use emergency vehicle lights, if there vehicle and jurisdiction falls under state statutes. To make it easy for our Michigan customers to buy the right warning lights and accessories, we have gathered state statutes and links to formal sources.

Minnesota Emergency Vehicles Defined

Minnesota state statute 169.011 defines an emergency vehicle as a vehicle driven by law enforcement, fire, or EMS. The statute allows for privately or publicly owned vehicles to use emergency lighting, and also extends to volunteer firefighters and volunteer emergency response teams.

Minnesota EMS, Law Enforcement, and Fire Trucks can use Red Flashing Warning Lights

Minnesota EMS, law enforcement, and fire trucks are permitted to use red flashing warning lights under the state’s statute 169.17169.64. This statute allows these first responder vehicles to use a rear facing, or passenger side front facing blue light.

Construction and Hazard Vehicles Can Use Amber Flashing Lights in Minnesota

minnesota-state-flagUnder the state statute listed above, Minnesota construction and hazard vehicles are permitted to use amber flashing lights. However, this state statute does not require this type of utility vehicle to use amber lighting, which means drivers have the option to use amber lights or forgo them.

Minnesota Wreckers Must Use Red/Amber Warning Lighting

While construction and hazard vehicles are not required, but allowed, to use amber lights, wreckers are required to use flashing/intermittent red/amber warning lights. The statute also requires these lights to be visible for at least 500 feet, and require the lighting to be installed on the dome of a vehicle.

Minnesota has Strict Pilot Vehicle Lighting Requirements

Pilot vehicles in Minnesota are required to use a single or dual amber light. The warning device must be mounted above or at the sides of required signage and must be at least 5' above the surface of the road. It is also necessary for the light to flash at a rate of 60 to 90 flashes per minute. If the escort vehicle is operating at nighttime, using the lights is required by law.

For more information about what lights may be available to you, we suggest calling your State Highway Patrol office at: 651-201-7100

*Please note that these numbers are what we are currently able to find and the numbers may have changed since this listing.


Disclaimer: The emergency vehicle light state statute guide was created by Extreme Tactical Dynamics as a guide and reference. We make no claim to the accuracy or validity of this guide. This guide was written to the best of our knowledge and has been provided to our customers as a courtesy ONLY! The information in this guide is our interpretation of the law as we have read it. We cannot be held responsible for any errors as this is only our interpretation of the law and the laws are constantly changing. We cannot be held liable or responsible for any errors and recommend that our customers refer to their local authorities to confirm the particular statue that governs their use of emergency vehicle lights.

Chamber of Commerce Verified Member
Business Consumer Alliance Member
GoDaddy SSL Secure Site
mcAfee Secure Shopping
TrustGuard Business Verified
TrustGuard Certified
TrustGuard Privacy Verified
TrustGuard Secure Site Verified